Modern Day Slaves

I strongly dislike the fact that I live in a generation where people care more about how many likes you get on an instragram photo than how many compliments you gave that day. Kids are judged by how many followers they have, how many favorites on their last tweet they got, or how many shares on Facebook. And I can’t say I haven’t been there. I’ve been that person who debates whether or not they should remove a photo from social networking because I was worried that since it didn’t have very many likes that it wasn’t good enough to be shared. Since when do I care about what other people think is good enough or not? I spent most of my adult life fighting to be the type of person who doesn’t give a shit when people don’t accept what I do or who I am. When I start giving a shit is the day that i go back to being the Lacey who shoved her finger down her throat to please other people because her happiness stemmed from them. I know that sounds like a far fetched connection. For someone to go from caring about how many likes they have on their picture to becoming bulimic. But I can tell you its not. It starts that way… and then it grows into something uncontrollable. We live in a world where you can share anything about yourself with as many people as you want in a blink of an eye, but we choose to use that power to make ourselves value our own worth based off of other peoples opinions. To quote one of my favorite songs, we live in a world “so hateful someone would rather die than be who they are.” I was there. Thousands of other people are currently there. Yet we let this simple tool called social networking control our lives and we don’t even notice that its happening. We could be sitting right behind a person that we call a “friend” on Facebook, a person who likes our pictures and statuses and shares our videos, and not say a single word to that person. That person contributed to how you are valued online and you couldn’t even make eye contact with the person. Whats worse is that even though I’m not the only one noticing this phenomenon, i am of the minority. People who resent social media at my age are one of few. I say all of this yet I am going to continue my use of Facebook and my favorite, Instagram, and I’m going to continually count how many likes I get and secretly wish the number would go up… because we, my friends, are modern day slaves to our iPhones. “Likes” are our high and social networking is our pipe, and we are far too gone for rehab to save us now.

Leave a Reply

